Sign in to follow this  
nathandelane

I know application programming, can anyone teach me game programming?

Okay I am well versed in application programming. The last "game" I programmed though was a dumb maze in QBasic in the 90's. I've never dealt with OpenGL, SDL, DirectX (and the rest of the Direct family), or any other "graphics" engine. Probably the closest thing I've gotten to game programming is making animations within Java using Swing and AWT. So now that you know I'm an experienced programmer, I'm sure you want to see my experience - http://nathandelane.awardspace.com/programming.php - Does anybody want to be my mentor? Can anybody take me into their project and help me get started in game programming? I want to learn, and I'm ready for the challenge! I can do backend stuff, and I'm really good at math (now) and figuring stuff like that out. So can anybody help? Thanks. Nathan Lane w: http://nathandelane.awardspace.com/

Well if you're having trouble finding somebody to mentor you, there are plenty of game development books for non-beginning programmers. Books tend to be a good way of learning, so your best bet would probably be to pick a few of those up and work through them. If you are an experienced programmer as you say, all that would be left for you to learn is an API (DirectX, OpenGL, jME, Slick, etc.) and the components of a game and how a game works. Both of those tend to be the focus of a lot of those previously mentioned books.

See that I suppose is where my problem lies though - I have no money - nothing extra to get me going, so all I have to rely on are dumb tutorials that don't teach me very much, don't explain all of the details of compiling and linking, try to get me into the high level too quickly. I want to participate somewhere - I'm not prideful - I KNOW that I can't write a video game on my own. Does somebody want to mentor me?

Nathan