Sign in to follow this  
dirk1

new here, full of questions: here's number 1!

dirk1    100
hi people, im really a amateuristic noob at the whole programming concept. BUT im planning to get in deep:). the reason why is as follows: i have got quite a decent machine i think: Dual Pm xeon 2.0 1 G mem. Nvid GF FX 5500 256 mb seagate 72 10000 rpm etc. it might not be the newest but thats exactly my point. hardware/software development is so fast paced nowadays they can hardly match -up in terms of compatibility with eachother. now im not a person who feels like running to the stores to get for instance a new high end vid card , just because a shader package is not supported on my almost equally power-full old one. onto the topic: why is it that game developer's , other then just complying certain laws/guidelines give solid info on the engine , system requirements and compatibility and leave it at that. what i mean is why does a game like call of duty 4 pop up a message saying i cannot play my game because i dont have the minimum requirements (to be specific- supposedly my vid-card wont support separate alpha blending) as i am no idiot i read the minimum requirements and was convinced i could tweak the game enough to fulfill my pleasures. but it does not even run. heres the deal. so now i need to go from amateur-tweaker to semi-professional programmer lol. maybe someone can lead me into the light by telling me where i need to go to overwrite the checking system pre-launch. or better where do i find out if i can tweak /recode my shader-compatibility well interesting stuff here anyway.if no one replies ill figure out slooooooooowly:) greetings from an enthusiastic gamer (very attached to his "old" system)

Wan    1366
There is no standard mechanism for that. For all we know, the program contains a hard-coded condition like:
if (shaderModel < 3)
{
exit("fail");
}