I think I know whats best for me, but...

Started by
10 comments, last by spyridonz 16 years, 1 month ago
In my mission to figure out which language(s) I would choose, I think I figured out whats best. My goals are.. A) be able to program graphic engines/physics that perform well, and... B) be able to save time on how long the game takes to create wherever possible. Now I have had some experience with Python and PyGame, and recently I have been working with C++ and SDL. I'm currently learning some OpenGL and after that I'm going to try out Direct3D to see which I would prefer using. Taking my background and goals in to consideration, I think it would fit my needs and be a good choice to extend C++ with Python. But I must admit, lately I have been quite tempted as I see all these people talking about C# and XNA and how "it is going to be the future of programming" and all that. Faster production is tempting as always, even though I'm pretty sure it wont beat the development speed of C++/Python. But the thing that really catches my interest is how C# and XNA are supposed to come with much better tools. Which brings me to my question - how valuable are these tools in the long run? Are they something that is focused towards new programmers, or everyone? Is this something I should look in to, or does my current plan of C++/Python fit my goals better?
Advertisement
My goals are.. A) be able to program graphic engines/physics that perform well, and... B) be able to save time on how long the game takes to create wherever possible.

can you ellaborate on this? do you plan to write your own physics / graphics libraries or would you prefer to use some middleware in order that you can quickly achieve graphical / physical output?