Sign in to follow this  

Game I/O

This topic is 3571 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys! (skip this introduction if you don't wish to get bored) I'm a noob with a wish to one day become a game programmer. I am familiar with C++ and am currently attending an Object Orientation course at the university. I have plans for an Asteroids-like game and have spent some time thinking about how I'd create such a game. Currently I'm struggling with OpenGL (reading the Red Book) and hope to create some kind of simple app featuring moving asteroids. I have never made a class with a Draw() method yet, so it'll be interesting. What I'd like to know is what would be good choices for I/O libraries. The game needs to handle keyboard and mouse input in quite a simple way. I want buttons to be clickable, use a mouse click for a teleportation ability and use hotkeys to activate certain events. I program in C++ using OpenGL. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance, A noob with dreams P.S. On a side-note, if someone has links to any REALLY straightforward game source, that'd be awesome. I'd love to see some simple examples of game loops with collision detection, preferably with OpenGL. ;)

Hopefully input is provided by the windowing system, the exception is for something that is a modular rendering engine like OGRE, which creates the window but uses another library for input (OIS).

Have you heard of SDL and GLFW and SFML?