• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
rippingcorpse

C++ Small Projects

This topic is 3896 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Could someone tell me how my code is? I'm just starting to learn code structure so there may be a bit too much spaghetti code. These are from the projects that Zahlman (sp?) recommended me. Thanks in advance! 1) "Hello World", or as at least one game programming book calls it, "Game Over". Just output a message.
#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	system("Title Hello World");
	cout << "Hello world" << endl;
	system("PAUSE");
	return 0;
}
2) Get a line of text from the user and output it backwards. Try several approaches to the problem. Also try getting the "line" (probably only a word) from the command line arguments.
#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <sstream>
using namespace std;

int main(int argc, char* argv[]){
	while(cin){
		system("cls");
		cout << "Enter text to output backwards:" << endl;
		string input;
		getline(cin, input);
		stringstream ss(input);
		string sInput;
		if (ss >> sInput){
			for (int i = sInput.length(); i >= 0; --i)
				cout << input;
		}else{
			cout << "Invalid input!" << endl;
		}
		cout << endl;
		system("PAUSE");
	}
}
3) Prompt for two numbers and report the product. Add in all the appropriate error handling: for each number, repeatedly ask until you actually get a valid number. Read the standard input a line at a time for this, and ignore any "garbage" text that appears after a valid number on the line (but do complain about garbage at the beginning).
#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <sstream>

using namespace std;

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
	while(cin){
		system("CLS");
		cout << "Enter 2 numbers to multiply:" << endl;
		string sInput;