• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
onfu

Starting C# - Graphics advice needed

This topic is 3867 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, The time has come around again where I feel like learning something new programming-wise. I currently develop Flash games and other bits and pieces in AS3 (although my use of proper design patterns and advanced OOP is fairly limited), so I'm fairly comfortable with general programming and basic to mid level OOP. The reason I want to get into C# is to gain better access to 3D game development, as I'm a 3D artist first and foremost. The thing is though - I don't want to get into advanced 3D programming. I don't want to get into building 3D engines, or optimization, or push the most polygons with the most insane shader features. what I want to do is just build games. Simple games (at least for a long time). I want to focus on ideas, game logic, A.I., and general gameplay mechanics, with as easy access as possible to a nice but fairly standard 3D API. I use Flash, and love it, because of the rapid prototyping and instant results. If I have an idea for a Flash game, I can immediately focus on the logic and mechanics of the game and then make it look graphically respectable without any extra (or VERY minimal) extra code. So what I want is a language and library/ies that will open up the potential to incorporate my 3D in proper real time, but allow me to very quickly have graphical elements that I can manipulate and get feedback from. I have absolutely ZERO concern for a lack of framerate optimization. I don't want to create Crysis 2. This will be early days for for me in terms of a low level language, so I'll be working on simple stuff. I don't want to know how to build good engines though, I just want one I can use with as little setup as possible so that I can design the games in my head.