• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Getting Started

This topic is 3583 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Previously a lot of my experience has been with programming websites and game design, but I am looking to start programming games myself. I have prior experience with the Game Maker software, but want to do something more 'professional'. I was wondering what language people would recommend, I would be looking to make 2d games, possibly moving to mmorpgs, still 2d, when I have enough experience with the language. I have some knowledge of javascript if this sways your recommendation. Thanks in advance, Robert.

Advertisement
I'll give it a try.

You could start by using a high level language that abstracts things like memory management. Python is used by many newcomers (and not only new) around here.
Once you have the fundaction running you can "speed up" things by moving portions of your code to C/C++.

It all depends on your background also.

Hope it helps

Thanks, I was thinking I would probably go for something like Python or Java, but I looked at some Java (from a tutorial on this site) and got rather disheartened! I'll have a look at Python. I know that certain languages only run on certain OSs *Microsoft*, so are there any problems like this?

Quote:

I know that certain languages only run on certain OSs *Microsoft*, so are there any problems like this?

If you're thinking of C#... you're wrong.

I'll second Python as a good choice, though.