• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
KeldorKatarn

Creating a province style map (like in games like Risk, Hearts of Iron etc)

This topic is 3848 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am trying to achieve a map as described in the topic. For someone not familiar with Hearts of Iron e.g here a screen to make clear what looks and functionality I am trying to achieve roughly. http://www.gamershell.com/static/screenshots/9219/198922_full.jpg Since I am not very experienced in 2d (or any) graphics programming I am not sure about the best approach to this problem. I'm going to describe what I am so far thinking of as a good approach to this, and I'd like you to comment on it, and tell me what's good or bad about it or how it could be done in a better way. First of all the map is split into provinces as can be seen. So in some sort of editor I'd have to be able to draw the map and specify what province is where, or what pixel belongs to what province. I was going to create a big bitmap of the entire world, using colors to draw each province. It would be easiest to simply use the 32bit color value as province ID but since it is very hard to optically see a difference between color value ARGB(hex) FF000000 and FF000001 I'd probably go for a little more obvious colors, since one would only need a few thousand provinces anyway and not the entire 32bit range for ids. So each province would be colored in a special color, that I might put into some lookup table to be able to link color to province ID. This big bitmap would be loaded into the game and stored in memory. If the player now clicks on the map, I would just look up the pixel coordinates he clicked at and look up the color in my map, and then can immediately look up the province id in my table to find out what province the player clicked at without the need for bounding boxes or