Sign in to follow this  
Tindytim

Heavy use of Parallax mapping on Low Poly Models?

Tindytim    122
I would first of all like to say I am not a Programmer (at least not a good one). I am learning. However I am a 3D Modeler, and this question has had me thinking. Rather than had multi LODs for a single Model, why not use the model used for physics, then apply a parallax map to it? Would that save processing power, versus the conventional low poly for physics and high poly for render? Am I wrong in assuming that there is a mesh for physics (on that resembles the higher poly mesh) rather than a collection of shapes for the various body parts along the skeleton? I'm sorry if this is the wrong section.

OrangyTang    1298
Quote:
Original post by Tindytim
Am I wrong in assuming that there is a mesh for physics (on that resembles the higher poly mesh) rather than a collection of shapes for the various body parts along the skeleton?

Depends on the game and what it's being used for. Having a low poly collision mesh is certainly one way of going about it, however it might just be a collection of primative shapes (spheres, capsules, etc.) attached to the skeleton and therefore not really suitable for rendering.

Personally I prefer the second approach, as the last thing you want is for an artist to change the model of a character and suddenly break all of your carefully weighted gameplay because they're suddenly much easier/harder to hit now.

Tindytim    122
Quote:
Original post by OrangyTang
Personally I prefer the second approach, as the last thing you want is for an artist to change the model of a character and suddenly break all of your carefully weighted gameplay because they're suddenly much easier/harder to hit now.

How would Parallax mapping affect the collision detection, or weight painting (or something similar?)?