Sign in to follow this  
ericgrave

help

ericgrave    130
OKAY LOL hopefully this will be the last forum i sign up too and hopefully it will be better then all the overs! well i am just wondering if anyone could help me out i am a beginner in c++ am currently using devc++ just wondering is there any game engines or graphics engine out there i could use with dev c++? i might not be makeing any sense lol its because i have no idea how to build games and i have no idea about graphics engines etc.. i have a book on game programming through which is just for pygame which i would prefer to not use...so please can anyone help me lol..

Driv3MeFar    1080
Quote:
Original post by ericgrave
the compilers are not owned by microsoft or nething are they?

Hands down the best free C++ IDE out there is, in fact, a Microsoft product. Unlike Dec-C++, it has an up to date compiler, incredibly useful debugger, and makes C++ development an all around much better experience. It is the Visual Studio Express Edition.

ericgrave    130
cheers :D i dont wanna use microsoft because i want free compilers where i coudl create games programs for linux and apple if that makes any sense at all lol

blackcloak    189
I understand that. Both code::blocks and eclipse will do what you need. Also check out XCode when developing on the Mac. I personly like code::blocks a little better than eclipse and it is whole lot better than dev c++.

oler1s    585
Part of being a programmer is trying to figure things out on your own. Use your own intelligence, or look for information online first. Since this isn't a chat room, don't run back here repeatedly without a serious question you couldn't solve on your own.

Crazyfool    307
Also, dont expect to be making pretty graphical stuff for awhile. C++ is a meaty language and game development is very difficult, so learn the basics and even some more intermediate stuff before expecting games to be made.

Basse85    308
Quote: