Sign in to follow this  
Rasmadrak

std::vector and template problem...

Hi, I'm curious why the following doesn't work.
template <class T>      //do I need to define T somewhere?
class ResourceManager
{
    private:
        vector<T*> *items;

public:

void init()
    {
        items = new vector<T*>;

for (vector<T*>::iterator i = items->begin(); i != items->end(); i++) //<-- This is not accepted, "Expected ; before i" 
        {
          //...  do stuff
        }
    }
}

To me it should work, but this is my first attempt using templates, so I might be missing something. I also have the same problem with std::map. Thanks for your time! /Robert

You should be more specific than just saying "it doesnt work"... [EDIT] - ahh, I see you described the error in your comments, never mind!

Anyway, you need a semicolon on the end of your class definition, and you need "std::" in front of "vector". This works for me:
template <class T>
class ResourceManager
{
private:
std::vector<T*> *items;

public:

void init()
{
items = new std::vector<T*>;

for (std::vector<T*>::iterator i = items->begin(); i != items->end(); i++)
{
//... do stuff
}
}
};

[EDIT]
As for style:

1) Dont use init functions! Use constructors and destructors:

template <class T>

class ResourceManager
{
private:
std::vector<T*> *items;
public:
ResourceManager()
{
items = new std::vector<T*>;

for (std::vector<T*>::iterator i = items->begin(); i != items->end(); i++)
{
//... do stuff
}
}
~ResourceManager()
{
delete items;
}
};

2) Is there any reason that items is a pointer?:

template <class T>

class ResourceManager
{
private:
std::vector<T*> items;
public:
ResourceManager()
{
for (std::vector<T*>::iterator i = items.begin(); i != items.end(); i++)
{
//... do stuff
}
}
};

The compiler is not certain that std::vector<T*>::iterator is actually referring to a type in this case — as far as it's concerned, it has as much chance of being a type as it does a member.

Just give it a hint that it's a type: