Sign in to follow this  
Jharii

3d Engine - C#

Noobs ask noob questions. So here it goes. I am looking for advice on a good 3d engine which I can use in C#. My intent is to create a multiplayer board game similar to Runebound or Descent (www.fantasyflightgames.com) or Talisman utilizing 3d graphics and implementing a tile-based engine which allows for custom "gameboard" creation. I am new to game programming and am simply looking for a solid first step. What I am trying to avoid is testing 5-10 graphical engines until I find one I like. I know this may be unavoidable, but all advice is welcome. Thank you in advance.

Quote:
Original post by Kelly G
I'm using one called Irrlicht.NET CP. It is a wrapper over the Irrlicht Engine, which does graphics and some other useful things like collision detection.

Irrlicht has always interested me, however Irrlicht CP has little to no documentation associated with it and the forums seem stagnant and somewhat uninformative.

As I mentioned, I am a noob. I followed the limited installation instructions to no avail. I had access to the namespace but no access to the functionality.

Yeah there's some decent stuff for XNA. TorqueX is pretty nice, but the documentation for the 3D stuff is rather lacking. Some of the XNA starter kits (RacingGame, ShipGame) could offer a nice codebase to start with too, even if you don't consider them "engines" per se.

Thanks. I think I will pursue the project with XNA. I did investigate it previously and I already have a couple of XNA books, so it would make sense. Having added confirmation helps a lot.

And while it is not a true game engine, it is likely that I will not need the overhead that other engines may carry, so it may be perfect.

Thanks again.

Quote:
however Irrlicht CP has little to no documentation associated with it and the forums seem stagnant and somewhat uninformative.