Sign in to follow this  
gp343

Are there any big Commercial Games in C?

With C++ being so popular, I was just curious if there are any Big time commercial games in C or if people are still using C to develop commercial quality games?

Well, the root of my question is that I'm a Java developer who's interested in moving over to C or C++ for Games development. However, judging from the questions/comments I see in forums, it appears that the majority of Game developers uses C++. With that in mind, it appears pointless in learning C - although C may have a shorter learning curve than C++?

Quote:

However, judging from the questions/comments I see in forums, it appears that the majority of Game developers uses C++. With that in mind, it appears pointless in learning C

So you believe it's "pointless" to learn a language just because the majority of game developers don't use it? You couldn't be more wrong. First of all, do you really think that professional gamedevs only know C++? They probably know a dozen of languages. And second, are you a professional developer? No. So you don't have to work with the constraints they do(compiler support, legacy). Learn a lot of languages, and pick the best one for the job judging by *your* conditions and requirements, not by someone else's. For example, I know C++ but I have decided that I program mainly in Python, because it serves me better. Merely imitating professionals and using whatever tool they happen to use doesn't make you a better programmer.

I wonder, how you could avoid learning C while learning C++... C is basically a subset of C++.

But to your question: I think that Doom, Quake 1 and/or 2 were written in pure C. But I'm not 100 percent sure.

Quote:
Original post by gp343
However, judging from the questions/comments I see in forums, it appears that the majority of Game developers uses C++.

The majority of game developers on forums never finish their games, either.

Quote: