Sign in to follow this  
3DViewer

OpenGL Dealing with large amount of data

Hi! I must start saying that I am new to OpenGL. I have inherited an old piece of code that draws surfaces made of triangles. Its basic method is the following: glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES); for (i = 0; i < *n; i++) { glVertex2fv(vert[endpts[nx]-1]); nx++; glVertex2fv(vert[endpts[nx]-1]); nx++; glVertex2fv(vert[endpts[nx]-1]); } glEnd(); On top of all, this code is not using specific matrix calls such as glRotate, glTranslate and glScale to handle the object movement. It holds onto the complete view matrix and does it's own adjustments based on the inputs and then just sets the whole matrix before rendering. It is fine with small models, but when I start playing with millions of triangles, it takes about 5 seconds to render the result of a rotation/translation. I am planning to re-code the stuff, grouping the triangles to render them in 1 call, using index buffering to avoid duplicated vertices, but at the moment, I am having a problem with the following basic problem: Assuming I have already drawn the model using the above piece of code and want now to translate it using the mouse (the mouse event has returned dx and dy), How do I make the graphic card understand to use what it has already in memory and apply on it the glTranslatef(dx, dy, 0) without having to re-do the above piece of code, ie the glBegin ... glVertex2fv ... glEnd stuff? I thought of using glMultMatrixf(), so I did the following: GLfloat new_matrix[] = {1,0,0,0.5,0,1,0,0.5,0,0,1,0,0,0,0,1}; float mat[16]; int r,c; glGetFloatv(GL_MODELVIEW_MATRIX, mat); qDebug("Before glMultMatrixf"); for (c=0 ; c<16 ; c++) std::cout<<mat[c]<<" " ;std::cout<<std::endl; glMultMatrixf(new_matrix); qDebug("After glMultMatrixf"); glGetFloatv(GL_MODELVIEW_MATRIX, mat); for (c=0 ; c<16 ; c++) std::cout<<mat[c]<<" " ;std::cout<<std::endl; So I just want the model to be translate by a factor 0.5 in x and y. The outputs of my debu info are: Before glMultMa