Sign in to follow this  
cNoob

OS-X Development Basics

cNoob    295
So I'm new to developing on a mac I have Xcode setup and I've tested several example projects and everything seems to be going fine, I've been reading about the several options I have. Im planning on using the OpenGL API aswell as leaning over more towards cocoa than carbon. The only thing I'm unsure of is objective-c, I know I could just forget about it and use the SDL library for window management. What are your takes on the native OS-X API's and what other options do I have?

jyk    2094
Quote:
Original post by cNoob
So I'm new to developing on a mac I have Xcode setup and I've tested several example projects and everything seems to be going fine, I've been reading about the several options I have. Im planning on using the OpenGL API aswell as leaning over more towards cocoa than carbon. The only thing I'm unsure of is objective-c, I know I could just forget about it and use the SDL library for window management.

What are your takes on the native OS-X API's and what other options do I have?
My own preference is to work with cross-platform languages/APIs (C++/Boost/OpenGL/SDL or C#/OpenGL/SDL). This way, you can target (e.g.) Windows and Linux as well.

daviangel    604
Quote:
Original post by jyk
Quote:
Original post by cNoob
So I'm new to developing on a mac I have Xcode setup and I've tested several example projects and everything seems to be going fine, I've been reading about the several options I have. Im planning on using the OpenGL API aswell as leaning over more towards cocoa than carbon. The only thing I'm unsure of is objective-c, I know I could just forget about it and use the SDL library for window management.

What are your takes on the native OS-X API's and what other options do I have?
My own preference is to work with cross-platform languages/APIs (C++/Boost/OpenGL/SDL or C#/OpenGL/SDL). This way, you can target (e.g.) Windows and Linux as well.