Game math

Started by
4 comments, last by nilkn 15 years, 11 months ago
Hello, I'm currently a college student, in a software engineering program. My school doesn't have a particularly strong math program, and I'm wondering what kind kind of math I'll need to know for game programming. I want to get into AI and I think at this point I'm going to need to pick up a few books or something along those lines but I don't really know what I need to learn. Could anybody tell me what I should look for (and maybe recommend some books, I have some calculus already and will probably get some more through school, up to Calc III). Thanks
Advertisement
Any game programmer needs to know 3D math. This means you're going to want to take Linear Algebra. If you're eager to read a book, wikipedia has links to 3 complete, free online books.
Game AI isn't horribly math-driven, but solid knowledge of Calc III (partial derivatives, 3D space, etc) and Linear Algebra will always be helpful. Numerical Methods is also a handy topic, but moreso for physical simulations (which you could run into with physically based intelligent agents, but that's not really my specialty).
Linear Algebra is certainly helpful for a game developer, but for AI in particular I'd say you need a good knowledge of probability, ideally extending into fullblown Statistics.

Richard "Superpig" Fine - saving pigs from untimely fates - Microsoft DirectX MVP 2006/2007/2008/2009
"Shaders are not meant to do everything. Of course you can try to use it for everything, but it's like playing football using cabbage." - MickeyMouse

Quote:Original post by Shakedown
Any game programmer needs to know 3D math. This means you're going to want to take Linear Algebra. If you're eager to read a book, wikipedia has links to 3 complete, free online books.