Sign in to follow this  

Transition/What should I do?

This topic is 3496 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Okay, I started programming in C++ about 3-4 months ago. I originally did it as a senior project for High School as something I always wish I could do (create my own video game). I followed through a tutorial called Wrath Lands and was able to create a replica in which I transformed into a Star Wars Text-RPG adventure game. After that I started going through a programming book called Beginning Game Programming with C++. After reading through the book I created my own Tic Tac Toe game for two players. And after that I finished a program that I made unique from previous tutorials called Treasure Hunter. I had some rocky points but through this site was able to fix my mistakes and create the game. Now, I want to start getting involved in something more than just console programs. I want actual 2D graphics or programs that at least run smoothly without the requirement of hitting the enter button (if you play treasure hunt I use system("cls") to remove previous text... I want it to be smooth with no flickering screends). What should be my next step? Should I go onto trying some directx/opengl components and learning graphics? If so I simply want to go from console programs to 2D games not 3D... What would be the best graphics library to use? And finally should I not even get involved yet with graphics and simply work on more console programs? To see the projects(games) I made visit the following link: http://geocities.com/aslan649/games.html All of my games are in zip files... enjoy.

When it comes to making 2D games, you can learn a language like OpenGL or DirectX--the hard rout or you can learn SDL--SIMPLE direct-media library.