Sign in to follow this  

2d tile based map

This topic is 3492 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello there, I am a direct x beginner, and i am trying to create a tile based 2d map(like in a strategy game). My problem is: i want the map to be bigger than the screen and to navigate in the 4 directions to be able to view different parts of the map.It would also be great if i can zoom out to see more of the map and zoom in to see more details. Any help would be great. Thanks. note: i am using C# not C++ because this is an academic project for college so performance is not that important.

you need to implement a camera system

tips
you need world coordinates and screen cordinates

whatever movement you apply to your camera , you apply it to your world in the opposite direction

Just off the top of my head i would say somthing like this ...

create a full map image lets call it 3200 x 3200 (100 tiles wide and high if 32x32)

next create a struct or class or whatever like so ...

struct CAMERA
{
int x;
int y;
int width;
int height;
};

then when you draw to the screen ... im not good with DX but i would assume you would have to designate a source bmp, a destination bitmap and then the dimensions you wish to display. You would then just draw from the background bitmap at the x,y,width and height of the camera struct to your buffer or whatever.

you then control the where the camera is in relation to your character ..
if you move right do some logic to check if the camera exceeds the bounds of the background and whatnot if it doesnt ... camera.x += speed of your character and so on.