Sign in to follow this  

Baseball Physics

This topic is 3489 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey there, I'm a relatively new programmer with a relatively small project: I need to create a physics engine for a baseball being hit on a field. For example: power, direction (x,y), and angle (z) would be given and then it would show the ball being hit and where it would bounce, etc. Graphics are not really important here, I just need to be able to set up something that is visual simulation. Is there a really easy way to do this, or any tools I could use that would simplify this? Thanks so much!

It could be something extremely simple, e.g., a particle-based engine in which you just track the center-of-mass of the ball and do collision detection of a sphere with planes (swept-sphere vs. ground plane (and possibly batter's cage?). There's open source code available that will give you code for swept-sphere vs. plane collision detection (for example see Dave Eberly's Geometric Tools site...capped cylinder vs. plane). The dynamics of the ball between collisions is very straightforward, and unless you are worried about a semi-accurate response of the bat hitting the ball, you could just apply a simple impulse to the ball to represent the bat hit. I personally wouldn't bother using a full physics engine such as Bullet or ODE for this, but whether you are comfortable writing something yourself would depend on your comfort level with very basic particle physics and collision detection. Aerodynamic drag is easy to calculate and apply, as is, of course, the weight of the ball.