Sign in to follow this  

Hi, and two questions !

This topic is 3487 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Greetings fellow game makers ! This is my first post, so I am a rookie on this forum. I am part of a group who would like to develop a game on the Wiiware. Most of our gameplay mechanics, story and music are done and we are going to start developpment pretty soon. I think my partners are already registered on this website but I don't know their username yet. I'm registering for help but I also hope I can help other users. These questions might look ridiculous to you, but I must say I really am a beginner. The only games I made until now were done on RPG makers 95, 2000, 2003 and XP. Now we are making a game with unity game engine, so that's a completely different story. I'm the game designer, which mean I'm in charge of the battle system and story. I know a few things about prog, but I'm not a pro. For information, the game is a adventure game, with a few similarities with Zelda. My questions are mostly about textures and graphics. First question : Textures. I have learned how to make seemingless textures with real photos. It's a very easy way to make good graphics in my opinion, but... My question is, is this a common thing in the industry ? Are textures made with pixel art or based on real photos. For example, in Zelda : Twilight princess, do you think the textures were made with pixel art or based on photos ? Second question : Since we are making a Wiiware game, we are limited to a 50-60 mg game. How does texture's height and width eat memory comparatively to polygons ? Well, this is all for now. Thank you in advance !!

Textures are created by artists. It is up to the art lead to decide on a feel for the game, then it is up the artists to incorperate any source material necessary to achieve that feel.