Sign in to follow this  

need help programmng game

This topic is 3484 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i am new to the field of game programming. i am working on a new project in 3d game could you guide me to a good site where i could learn about the game programming in 3d , how to use th animated formats of animated character in my game and like that.?

Well, I think that the answer depends heavily on two matters:

First, how much general programming do you know, if I may ask, and what experience do you have? Have you ever worked with 3D graphics, for example (whether for games or otherwise); if not, what about 2D graphics? Second, do you want to create games, or program them? That is, do you want to focus on the programming, or on the game creation?

Depending on your answer, you might find some useful information if you start here, or look to a game creation tool such as GameMaker. Otherwise, you might want to consider modding an existing game, or, if you are comfortable programming, perhaps look to another engine.

If you're not already a programmer, and haven't been creating games via a tool such as GameMaker or the modding of existing games, and then, based on what I've heard of it and what I've seen implemented using it, I'd suggest GameMaker (linked-to above), and starting off with 2D games.

Some of the other members may have other suggestions for you to explore, of course. ^_^

It really is better to start out in 2d and work your way up to 3d or convert a 2d game to run on 3d if you want to take that approach. If you want to write a game in 3D then I'd suggest looking into a free engine such as Irrlicht or Ogre.