Sign in to follow this  

Writing screen-scrapers

This topic is 3484 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've never written one of these and I'm interested to try populating a DB by getting data from a bunch of web-pages. Are there any useful tools out there to make it a bit easier? The site I'm looking at doesn't make it easy by having nice ids on all HTML elements or anything like that... is it possible to scrape from what's actually on the screen and avoid navigating a lot of the HTML crap? Additionally, the site requires me to be logged in to access these pages. I've got some experience with server-side tech like JSP/ASP but security/authentication isn't an area I ever worked on. Is it a problem to login programatically and then make HTTP requests? My preference is to use Java/C# for this.

Quote:
The site I'm looking at doesn't make it easy by having nice ids on all HTML elements
Not sure I understood what exactly you want to do. You can simply ignore attributes such as id inside tags if you're not interested in them. Actually, if you're not interested in attributes, you can skip anything from the first whitespace to the end of the tag.

If you want to strip the text from all (most) HTML tags, this is probably easiest with a regular expression. Alternatively, and faster, you can of course scan the text for < and >. Since these characters have to be quoted in a HTML document when they appear in the text, any occurrence of them delimits a tag (unless the page is invalid). Just skip whatever is between them.

PHP even has a dedicated function (strip_tags) just for the purpose of stripping off HTML, and it even lets you specify a list of "allowable" tags.