• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
beinghuman

Regarding SDL, Chipmunk, and Maps

This topic is 3758 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am new to the game development scene although I have some experience with allegro and SDL. I have a few questions regarding SDL, Chipmunk, and level maps. I'm not sure if this is the correct category for this post, if it's not please move it. Are there any tutorials out there for integrating Chipmunk with SDL? I am planning on doing levels with textured polygons and I was wondering what is the best method of saving and loading level maps. Is there is a program that will compile the editable map to machine object or whatever? Should I just go with INI files?

Advertisement
I think I'll move this over to For Beginners as it's not particularly API-specific.

SDL and Chipmunk handle very separate things so there's not really much integration to be done. You would just call the SDL and Chipmunk initialisations alongside each other, call the Chipmunk updates during your update and event handling loop in SDL, and shut both things down at the end. Apart from possibly basing Chipmunk object sizes on those from an SDL_Surface, there's no real interaction between the two. Chipmunk moves your objects and SDL renders them, but they don't communicate directly.