• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
flotts

.x & .fbx animation problems

This topic is 3661 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and I am also new to the industry. I have a problem after exporting animations. When I am using the fbx file format some of the limb joints on the model become stretched like they are revolving around a different point. So I then tried the .x using the kwxporter which worked fine up untill recently when all the animations I export now freeze for a bit at the end before it loops again, and I've just found out that for some reason the exporter pads the animation to make it one second long. I have tried uninstalling the kwxporter then re-installing it but the settings are the same as when I last used it. I have no idea what I have done to cause this so if anyone has any ideas on what is going on, please let help me! I am using studio max 2008, rigged the model with a biped and exporting with the latest fbx and kwxporter. Thank you

Advertisement
I'm not sure I fully understand what you are doing, but I'm guessing that you are using DirectX code to play the exported animations (right?).

I'm not absolutely positive, but I don't think your exporter is padding the animations. You say that you had animations exported to .x that worked at some point... my question is: were these animations longer than 1 second? If so, that's why they worked. When an AnimationSet gets created in DirectX, if the actual time it takes to play the animations is less than a second, it gets lower-bounded to 1 second, i.e., you can't create an AnimationSet that has a period less than a second (at least not in Managed DX... I would guess it's the same in C++).