• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
BoulderSean

[.net] Strange effect when trying to texture a 3D mesh

This topic is 3660 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I apologize ahead of time if I am asking some fairly noob questions in this post. I am a fairly able coder but I have only been playing with 3D for a little over a week. While I have a fair amount of C# experience, I have not done much with WPF/Avalon so figured I'd whack something up as a project. This isn't really game related, more just a 3D/WPF learning experience. As such, I wasn't sure whether to post this in the .NET section or the DirectX/XNA section since WPF is backed by DX. Anyway, ultimately, I am trying to replicate some functionality similar to Poser or DAZ Studio to see what I can accomplish. Basically, that means reading a Poser format CR2 file, parsing a Wavefront obj file and then attempting to texture it correctly, apply morphs and perhaps weld groups to a bone structure as defined in the CR2. That last bit may take a while but should be good fun :) So I've written an obj parser. It initially handled v/vt/vn/f and seemed to work ok for a first go: As a first try not to bad but I realized that if I was going to texture from a UV map I'd have to parse g/usemtl into individual meshes to apply the correct files/materials to the right places: Still looking good. Then I tried this new grouping ability on a figure: Oops. Very sharp. I soon realized not all obj files have normals. When I had done it before as one mesh WPF had actually, behind the scenes, calculated the normals for me. So I had to learn how to calculate normals and weight them properly across all meshes: That was much better. Time to texture it: Now it was looking right! So I tried another: What a mess. The texture map was shifted on the Y axis by a smudge. I spent a couple days trying to fi