• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
programmermattc

OpenGL DirectX to OpenGL Question

This topic is 3664 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been working with DirectX for a few years and it wasn't until I went and did some XNA that I could really program in it and understand what was going on. I've looked into OpenGL a very small amount but would like to look into it more (what I've done previously was quite simple). What would you say about the programming differences between something like DirectX and OpenGL? Not which is better, but if I were going to program in OpenGL with a DirectX background, what would I find different, what would be very similar, etc...?

Advertisement
One thing to get used to is the lack of support functions (the D3DX collection). OpenGL is a rendering API, and a rendering API only. You'll need to seek outside libraries for vector/matrix maths functions and the likes. There's also no support for model formats (.X), you have to again look for a library or write your own format loading functions.

Other than that, things should go quite swimmingly - D3DBegin() is now glBegin(), vertex buffers are now vertex arrays, it shouldn't be too hard to pick up.