• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Renegader_bj

OOP help

This topic is 3662 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all, a quick question. I am fairly new to programming(I have been doing some on and off for a year or two), but I am brand new writing classes. I and a some friends are working on a game to gain experience, and I am finally getting to write a few classes on my own, but I ran into something that made me think. In all the examples of class I have seen, people use private variables like m_health, m_speed, etc. to describe their classes. So like this: ***SomeClass.h*** Class SomeClass { public: //Constructor SomeClass(); bool LoadSome(); void DrawSome(); ... private: int m_health; int m_speed; ... } Then they would go like this: class1 = new SomeClass(); class2 = new SomeClass(); class1->m_health=10; class2->m_health=15; But I wrote my class like so: ***MyClass.h*** struct VAR { int m_health int m_speed ... }; class MyClass { public: //Constructor MyClass(); bool LoadMy(); void DrawMy(); ... private: //some other variables here ... } In my eyes, by making a struct, I could optimize the whole thing by being able to create multiple objects from one class like so: class = new MyClass(); VAR object1; VAR object2; object1.m_health=10; object2.m_health=10; I tried both approaches and both work, but it seems to me that my way is more optimized, though could ultimately be more confusing. What do you guys think? -Brandon P.S. Obviously, in my game, the class is not called "MyClass" ;). These are just examples.

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by Renegader_bj
Then they would go like this:

class1 = new SomeClass();
class2 = new SomeClass();

class1->m_health=10;
class2->m_health=15;