• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
nightwreath

A hello and a degree question

This topic is 3751 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello friends! I am new member of the site and just wanted to take a moment to greet everyone here. :) Like most here I imagine, I am an aspiring game developer and have been an avid gamer since I was a young boy. I'm 29 years old now and want to find a good online school to get my degree. I also wanted to ask if some of you are familiar with any of the Online Computer/Game Development Programs such as Westwood College Online, UAT, Baker College, or even non-degree courses like those offered at the Game Institute. I work full time right now and don't have the option to move off to school in another state. My finances are also pretty tight, and I will probably end up having to pay for school mostly out of my pocket. (im trying for some federal aid but i wont hold my breath) So if any of you are familiar with some of these programs and could provide me with a little advice for finding an affordable, online degree in computer science, programming, or game development...I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks so much and I look forward to learning from all of you!

Advertisement
My apologies if I posted this in the wrong forum. I just saw the beginner's tab and figured that would be a good place to start. If a mod thinks this should be moved to a different forum that's fine by me. Thanks. :)

Well what is your current degree/work experience/hobby experience (if any)?

With no degree, it might be more prudent to go get a basic CS degree.
With a good CS degree and/or experience it might be a better choice to just practice making some demos.
Can't really tell without more background info.