• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Normthesamurai

Looking at game engines am I on the right track?

This topic is 3775 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a programmer with C++ and Java experience. since I want to get into making some games I have been using java to make simple little games and C++ to learn about DirectX and SDL. The more research I do the more certain I am that I don't want to be creating game engines anytime soon. But something has been confusing me: is there any point in learning how to use these libraries if an engine takes care of all that sort of stuff or am I just confused on what a game engine is? Also learning to use, say the torque engine for instance, is that included into a Cpp project or is it more of a substitute to using C++?

Advertisement
A game engine is basically a set of functions that you can call from your own code.

A graphics engine will display your graphics. A physics engine will enable you to move your objects around your world in a 'realistic' way.

Different engine will provide you with different levels of support and features. It's up to you to decide which one will suit you and your project (and level of experience)

You will still write your game in your chosen language.

Quote:
Original post by OldProgie2
A game engine is basically a set of functions that you can call from your own code.

A graphics engine will display your graphics. A physics engine will enable you to move your objects around your world in a 'realistic' way.

Different engine will provide you with different levels of support and features. It's up to you to decide which one will suit you and your project (and level of experience)

I don't agree with that definition of an engine. As I see it, an engine is more a less a black box that handles the flow of operations required to do what the engine does.