• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
DigitalSeeker

FPS game

This topic is 3648 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I am new to the forums and was interested in advice about FPS game development. I was thinking on making a multiplayer fps based mainly only, limited on single player. It can be reflected on the soldier front game developed by ijji.com > sfront.ijji.com, although with a whole knew twist. After reading a few posts i have decided that making my own game engine is where to start. I wanted to know if anyone has any resources regarding fps game engine development and also making the 3d graphics for such a game. I know how to use maya and 3d max, but not really how to implement these in creating a game. Any advice or topic/book/articles links would be appreciated. I am still a beginner and a FPS seems easier to start out with than going for a MMORPG. Few things i want to know but don't -combining the code with the 3d graphics -specific way of making 3d graphics for the code -developing a game engine? How? -can the same FPS devoted engine be adapted for MMORPG usage? Thanks,

Advertisement
I've created levels for shooters for 8+ years in my spare time and let me tell you, what you're looking for is a pretty complex job. I don't know exactly how far you plan to take your game - what visual quality and gameplay complexity you're aiming for - but if you take Soldier Front as your reference, then you'll probably be busy for the next 10 years. Sure, it's still easier than a MMORPG... ;)