• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
jjanevski

OpenGL [Heightmap Terrain Engine] Path to Follow

This topic is 3778 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Greetings, I am new to the 3D programming scene, so be kind. ;) Currently I am deving for the PlayStation Portable (PSP) and I am trying to write my own 3D terrain engine. I am using C/C++ and GU (PSP's version of OpenGL). So far I have been able to write a simple heightmapper that reads a .raw file (my heightmap) and converts the 8 bit data to vertexes for my mesh. Now this is where things begin to get interesting. I want to develop a nice method for processing and displaying my mesh. The hardware that I have to work with is a CPU that can either be set to run at 222Mhz or 333Mhz. If the latter is set then the PSP's dedicated GPU will run at 166Mhz. A more specific outline of the hardware. (Source: http://www.osix.net/modules/article/?id=713)
Quote: