• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
TroyT

Question for begining

This topic is 3660 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm very new to game programming, in the sense of I haven't really done any programming yet. But as with anything else, I'm eager to learn even if I only ever learn the basics, I'm still eager to learn. I've been doing a lot of reading here and there on the subject. I just had some minor questions and figured I'd try to get some better answers from normal folks like me. What's the best way to start (i.e. something easy to program)? What's the best program to use? -I have Visual Basic 5.0 left over on my lap top, my father worked with it here and there and when I acquired his lap top it was on there. Is it worth starting out with this since I already have it at my fingertips or should I try for something else. What or where are some good tutorials? I'm not looking to take classes or go to school for this just yet. I'd like to try and learn as much on my own as possible to see if this is something that I'd really like to do. I was able to teach myself HTML and CSS over the past few years and I like learning on my own more. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to include any other tips, other than just answers to my questions. Thank-You Troy [Edited by - TroyT on June 16, 2008 5:32:04 AM]

Advertisement
Visual Basic was the first programming language I learned and its a pretty forgiving language for beginners which is nice. I learned everything I know about VB from books so I'm not sure about whats online but there is probably a lot of nice web based tutorials.