• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Tobbzer

New to game making.

This topic is 3832 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey im 19 an im new to game making can anyone reccomed me some tools that i can use to start making some simple games. i hear making tetris as a 1st game is a great way to start. any tips please say

Advertisement
Quote:
Hey im 19 an im new to game making can anyone reccomed me some tools that i can use to start making some simple games.
What are you going to do with these tools? Can you program?

Quote:
i hear making tetris as a 1st game is a great way to start.
If you have the necessary prerequisites.

Look into languages and general programming first if you have no background in game development. If you do have background in programming, as long as you know a recent language there's a good chance you can make something in it simulating a video game. Here's a list of game development API's that you can use for game development assuming you have a programming background:

C# - XNA
C++ - (Tons but notably) DirectX , OpenGL
VB - DirectX, Windows Media

My first game was an RPG but instead of focusing on all the graphics development, I used VB and Windows Media Player plug-in to display the enemy while you fought and the game screen was a Windows form. That's just proof you could build a game out of any basic tools you know how to work with.

Well, for tools, you need to decide what language you want to use.

I won't go into what to choose, since that will spark heated debate, but I recommend the following: Java, Python, C, C++, Visual Basic (not in any order).

If you don't know how to program at all, pick one of those and stick with it. If you do know how to program, well you should be able to look at the languages and pick an appropriate one for your skills.