• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
vadali

SOLVED: please help the new-bee - sideview of a vector

This topic is 3746 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, I am totally new to all of this, and at work i was assigned to do something, which confuses me quite a bunch, although this should be easy for anyone who knows.. by the way, I use java and JOGL. I have a vector that I need to display, it has its origin point, and direction, for example: position (100,100,100) direction(1,2,1) so, i will need to draw a line from 100,100,100 to 101,102,101. the trick is, that I need to have a few viewports of that line. the first one, a front view vector, where I need to look right into the vector given, it being located on the center of my viewport. this I managed to do. the second one, would be a side window, where I need to see the beginning of this vector on the center of my viewport (100,100,100) and y axis is up. I need to be in exactly 90 degrees of the vector's direction (i guess on the xz plane).. This I didnt manage to do.. what I tried to do, was to make a plane from the vector (1,2,1) and my up vector (0,1,0), and find the normal of that plane, but that doesnt work that well.. whats the correct way to look at my vector from the side having the y axis pointing up? by the way, I made a little camera class, that later i use glu.gluLookAt to set my looking direction. please help me out.. Vadali [Edited by - vadali on June 19, 2008 6:50:48 AM]

Advertisement
I think it helps if you imagine this to be a 2D problem.

Imagine a 3D point declared with its position in space as (x,y,z)

from the front view point, you only need to display the x & y values of this point.

|
y|
|_____
x

from the side view only the z & y values.

|
y|
|_____
z

from the top view only the x & z values.

|
z|
|_____
x