• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Kurama_gamer

Game Test using DarkGDK

This topic is 3837 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, It has been a while that I wanted to program games, and my first contact with this programming part was with the DarkGDK, and now that I got some free time I started playing with it. I decided to make my version of Space Invaders using this library, following a tutorial included in the folder of this library. Then, I read it and basically wrote down the whole code myself to get every single detail of it. Then I decided to make a test, to create a window with a space background and a spaceship that goes left and right on the screen. I developed its code, cleaned it up the maximum I could, build it, no errors no warnings no nothing is found (good =D), but when i run it boom... a window is drawn, not in fullscreen as I set in the code, and it keeps blinking (refreshing) and nothing else appears >:( So I come here to ask for help =D I hope someone that knows DarkGDK can help! My complete code is here: http://www.badongo.com/file/9935964

Advertisement
void DarkGDK ( void )
{
while ( LoopGDK() )
{
gameSetup();//<--Right there
dbSync();
}
}

Well that would be the problem--calling gameSetup every frame. Should be:
void DarkGDK ( void )
{
gameSetup();
while ( LoopGDK() )
{
playerUpdate();
dbSync();
}
}

Just a small unrelated note - in C++, there is no need to write "void" in an empty argument list, just write empty parenthesis, e.g., void backgroundSetup ().

Thanks TheDirt, really just a little thing can make all the difference!

And I also had to add a backgroundUpdate() function which draws the sprite of my loaded image and add that to my loop =D
And add a line at my playerUpdate() function, corresponding to the creation of my sprite.

And thanks for the tip Gage64 =D