• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
skyfire360

PhysX: gravity not balancing out?

This topic is 3710 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm just getting started putting PhysX into my framework, but I've already encountered something strange: gravity doesn't seem to be affected by density. I'll outline what I've noticed, so feel free to stop me at any point where I'm wrong. Say I have a box with dimensions 1x1x1 and a density of 10. For the ease of unit conversion, I'm going to say it's 1m^3 and 10Kg. I've set gravity at -9.8m/s^2. If I run this simulation, it seems to work well and give results that are visually correct. Using the same scene, if I add a constant force of 9.8kg*m/s^2 to the box (same force as gravity, opposite direction) the box flies up into the sky! Shouldn't it stay in a static position, since gravity should be balancing out the vertical force? Now if I change the previous scenario of equal forces so that the box's density is 1000, it falls to the earth as if there was no upward force at all. If I change the box's density back to 10 and change the upward force to 0.98m/s^2, it still falls to earth, but much slower than without the force. What am I missing here?

Advertisement
Quote:
9.8kg*m/s^2 to the box (same force as gravity, opposite direction)

Say what? Force from gravity would be 98 newtons, not 9.8.

Quote:
Original post by Sneftel
Quote:
9.8kg*m/s^2 to the box (same force as gravity, opposite direction)

Say what? Force from gravity would be 98 newtons, not 9.8.

Well, yeah, but I'm mixing and matching units here because I can't figure out what's going on. Why does an upward force of 9.8 newtons cause the box to go flying into the sky?

gravity's acceleration = -9.8m/s^2
density = 10 kg/m^3
volume = 1m^2
mass = 10 kg
thus, Force due to gravity = -98 Newtons