• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Staticsoul

OpenGL OpenGL speedup

This topic is 3656 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there! I've using OpenGL for sometime, but I'm no expert yet.... I'm writing a program that render a model using spheres, by using its vertex, the problem is that when I'm using a for cycle to run through an array with the position and the radius of the sphere; and finally use the glutSolidSphere to create the sphere. The problem is each time I rotate the model it is perceptible some slowness on the rendering. If someone could help, I will appreciate it very much.

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by Staticsoul
the problem is that when I'm using a for cycle to run through an array with the position and the radius of the sphere

This is slightly confusing, how about a code snippet to clear things up? Post your render function.

Quote:
Original post by deadstar
This is slightly confusing, how about a code snippet to clear things up? Post your render function.

Sorry, I forgot to put it,

here it goes...

glPushMatrix();

glTranslatef(0.0, 0.0, translate_z);
glRotatef(rotate_x, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0);
glRotatef(rotate_y, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0);

for(int i=0;i<numvertex;i++){

glPushMatrix();
glTranslatef(vectSpheresHost.position.x, vectSpheresHost.position.y, vectSpheresHost.position.z);
glutSolidSphere(vectSpheresHost.radius,20,20);
glPopMatrix();

}

glPopMatrix();

glutSwapBuffers();

So you're rendering small spheres to represent your vertices?

How big is 'numvertex'? Seems like the pause is while it runs through the loop, you might have to rethink this design.

Also, you don't need push/popmatrix inside the loop.