• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Luonnos

Questions about ray tracing

This topic is 3719 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm about to start writing a ray tracer and I have a few questions. Should I store my rays and vectors as a starting point and 2 angles, or as a starting point and a point to signify direction? I want to have reflections, refractions, ray-sphere intersections, and ray-triangle intersections, but use sin and cos as little as possible. For a computer image, what should the angle of a human viewing frustum be? How do you express texture coordinates on a sphere? I'm pretty new to graphics programming. Thanks for the help.

Advertisement
Hi

I think this series of articles written by Jacco Bikker answer most of your questions, and it's a good starting point. I've learnt much from them.

Good luck for raytracing

If you have any questions after reading them, feel free to post here again. I am monitoring all topics related to ray tracing. :)

- Jacco.

Quote:
Original post by Almonsin
Hi

I think this series of articles written by Jacco Bikker answer most of your questions, and it's a good starting point. I've learnt much from them.

Good luck for raytracing

We all learned much from them :-) Anyway, as a fast answer, use a starting point and a normalized (unit length) vector as the ray direction. This is the representation used 90% of the times in a raytracer...
In addition, someone adds a few other infos: length of the ray (i.e. to specify the max distance to take into consideration), time (for example for motion blur) and so on.