Sign in to follow this  

Desktop Sprites - Advice Needed

This topic is 3462 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi I use MS VC++ 2008 and Vista. I need advice on how to code one of those desktop apps that use transparent sprites on the actual desktop without a window around them. Traditionally they can be minimized as a tray icon. I just need to be pointed at a tutorial or sample code or anything really. I have about two years experience coding 3D and 2D animation with game engines (using VC++) but I have no idea where to start to build a desktop sprite. For example, these apps create a transparent background sprite (female, sheep, cartoon animation, 3D model animated, fly, ... whatever...) that typically dances or crawls in a corner of the desktop. Any advice greatly appreciated. m0ng00se http://www.freewebs.com/m0ng00se/ Home of BACKSTREETS 3D

In the end they are windows as well, just with a few gadgets:

1) Pre Windows2000 you can use regions to create a sort of colorkey
2) With XP you can use layered windows to achieve alpha transparency

Most of the time you want your gadget to be click-through (ie. not take the focus when clicked on). This can mostly be achieved by NOT passing WM_LBUTTONDOWN (and similar) to DefWindowProc. I think there was also a window style that helped along with that.

So they're really just an ordinary Windows game with some sort of colorkey to make the window transparent? I sort of know how to do that already with a static graphic but not an animated one. Mainly because I do all my animation with game engines not native Windows API code.

Do you know if it can be done using a game engine? It sounds like I need to write directly to the DirectX API?

m0ng00se