Sign in to follow this  

threads, mutexes and the expense of locking.

This topic is 3457 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm working on a game using threads to handle various parts of AI but the threads will have common data elements that will be shared between them. Obviously I could use a mutex to lock down access to the shared elements but I'm concerned because I've been reading on the forums here that locking mutex's can be expensive. Since I'm not a thread expert and I want to be efficient are there other options (using booleans for example) or will I have to just bite the bullet and just code in the expensive calls? For what it's worth: I'm thinking of using 2-4 threads and my plan is to share a few simple c++ vector between the threads. Thanks in advance for your responses.

Yes, locking is expensive, more so if it is a contended lock (i.e. two or more threads are trying to acquire the lock) because that would mean at least one thread has to wait until the other one releases the lock again.
That's why you want to reduce the number of synchronization points in your program to an absolute minimum. Rather than constantly acquiring a lock, accessing the shared data and releasing the lock again it is often cheaper to acquire the lock only once per frame and create a thread-private copy of the shared data and operate on that rather than on the original shared data.

And no, simple bools won't cut it. If you share data across threads, you're going to need some form of synchronization, there is no way around it.

Quote:
Original post by Red Ant
Yes, locking is expensive, more so if it is a contended lock (i.e. two or more threads are trying to acquire the lock) because that would mean at least one thread has to wait until the other one releases the lock again.