• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
xlrustylx

Complete Noob with Questions

This topic is 3762 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there, A friend and I are interested in developing video games and going independent. The problem is, neither of us have any software development experience, only a little bit of web. So, we figured we should first learn C++ then move onto C#, since those seem to be the leading languages for Windows games. We were thinking about developing a simple 3D engine and toolset for the engine after we got a grasp on C++ and C# so we can begin developing games truly of our own. So, is this a bad, good, or different approach to game development? Thanks, Jared

Advertisement
Quote:
So, is this a bad, good, or different approach to game development?
Bad. You underestimate programming. Go the standard route every wanna-be game programmer does. Start with Python or C#. Learn the language. Write small programs. Gain experience. At some point, you can start writing practice apps. See if both of you are still interested by that point. Come back then.

Okay, makes sense. One more question, you said start with C#, why not C++? A lot of games I know of are made with C++.

You can use whatever language you want. Make some research, read about them and decide. If you're going to stick to programming, you will most probably learn C++ as it is still very important, but C#,Python and other languages are considerned more friendly to beginners, not that it is impossible to start with C++ of course. The choise is yours though.

I agree, start with Python, C# or Java, follow a tutorial or book to get to grips with one of them. Then, assuming you haven't given up (many people aren't made to be programmers) you can start making games. Making engines is a road to nowhere. [smile]