• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Si1ence

Some questions before I can start

This topic is 3704 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there, I'd like to create a game and hope I can get some advices here on how to start with it. Before I start to describe what I want to do here's what I'm capable of: I am no beginner, programming languages I have worked with include C/C++, Java and C#. Some experience with java script, php and very little with python. Like most programmers I've tried to create some mini games before (bomberman, 2D shooters, that stuff) but I've never worked with a real game engine, DirectX, OpenGL or so. And now to my plans: Simply said I want to create a Diablo-like game. But although I've searched the internet for a time I'm not sure what language I should use or what engine. I'm not afraid of using C or C++, but if the performance won't suffer too much I would prefer a higher level language like Java, C# or Python. The next question is: 3D or 2D? Like in Diablo the user looks on the game at an angle of 45° - so there should be at least 8 directions the player can go (up, down, left, right, up-right, down-right, up-left, down-left) That means 8 images for 1 player figure. But because I want the player to be highly customizable (different armors, weapons) that would mean I have to draw each piece of armor, each weapon 8 times - so long as there are no tricks I don't know. Using 3D objects would sound more reasonable, but creating them is far more complex compared to drawing some images I think. Lighting, shadows and such stuff would be nice too... Creating the game mainly in 3D sounds too complex somehow - Diablo isn't 3D after all. On the other side I don't want to learn "dead" techniques and therefor I've created this thread - to get some advices on what would be the best way to create the game. PS: F