• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Funkymunky

function pointer passed from within a class

This topic is 3764 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a little new to function pointers (C++), and this part is confusing me. I have a global function for Keypress callbacks, like so:
void KeyPressCallback(int k, void (*p)());
I have a class which wants to use this function. Except I can't figure out how to pass one of its member functions ("void AKey();") as the parameter. I've tried these from within the class's initialization function:
KeyPressCallback(keyA, this->AKey);
KeyPressCallback(keyA, &ManagerClass::AKey);
both spur errors. I also tried this from the function which calls the class's initialization function, after that call:
KeyPressCallback(keyA, gManager.AKey);
and still no go. So, what would be the correct syntax/method for doing what I'm trying to do?

Advertisement
You are getting errors because the function expects a pointer to a free (i.e., non-member) function, and you're trying to pass it a pointer to a member function.

If you want the function to accept a pointer to a member function, the signature should look like this:

void KeyPressCallback(int k, void (MyClass::*p)());

BTW, of the 3 function calls you listed, the second one is the correct one.

EDIT: You also need to pass a pointer to the object that the function is to be invoked on. See here and here for more info on pointers to members.

It is not enough to just supply a member function pointer. You must also supply an instance to invoke the function on.

Except now you'll need an instance of the class to call the member function pointer on:

someInstance->(*memberFunctionPointer)(parameters);

Otherwise you'll want to use static functions.

hmmm... can I do it with a class member function that is inherited from a pure virtual class? like this: