• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
MarsTeam

too old?

This topic is 3786 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I would like to ask you one thing. I am 17(soon 18) years old and I'm medicore+ in C++, and I started learning OpenGL few days ago. I never really worked on any big project, just lot of algorithm stuff in clean C++. But then, I see work of those much younger guys here on forum, stuff they do in 3D, and most of them started with programming around age 13. My question is, am I too old for that ? Everyone around me says that I'm too old to start with that, and I'll be waste of time. I would like to hear your oppinion, wheter it's possible to learn game-developement at this age, if you have any expieriences, or when did you start learning. I just finished my first game, tetris, and that's about my abilities. I want to do something more difficult, but should I, if everyone is saying i'm too old and I should learn something else. Thanks for answer.

Advertisement
Hah, yeah you're not too old. Plenty of people actually start learning software engineering and related fields in college. It's too late to be some sort of wunderkind but there's definitely nothing holding you back from a great career as far as age goes.

I started programming when I was 16 years old (I'm now 21) and I'm now working for over 2 years for a game developer here in the Netherlands. I haven't even finished my school...
What I want to say with this is that it doesn't matter when you start with game development, just invest a lot of time in it... You should be eager to learn new things. That's the most important thing I think.

But.. those younger guys have two major advantages:
1. The younger you are, the easier you learn (but hey... you're young too).