• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Predator_MF

Object rotation problem...

This topic is 3739 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm basically making a 2D engine, I've started with DirectX few months ago, so I'm still learning alot of stuff while working with it...I mean, don't get angry with my questions xD My situation - I'm using orthogonal projection in my application, it's set with this code: D3DXMatrixOrthoLH(&m_matProj, width, height, 0.2f, 20.0f); , where width and height are those from my window's size. When I rotate an object 90 degrees, it kinda shrinks it's width with visibly 20-30%, I can't tell exactly how much and what is causing it, I know I see it. I'm not an expert in math, but I think I correctly ordered the calculation of the scaling, rotation and translation matrixes, as I somewhere read it should be S-R-T. So I'm just guessing it's not that code that causes this problem, I must be missing something. This is my code that's calculates the world matrix for every object: float fOffX, fOffY, fScaleX, fScaleY; fScaleX = (float)m_nObjectWidth /m_nScreenWidth; fScaleY = (float)m_nObjectHeight / m_nScreenHeight; fOffX = ( 0 + (float) m_nObjectPosLeft / m_nScreenWidth ) - 0.5; fOffY = ( 0 - (float) m_nObjectPosTop / m_nScreenHeight ) + 0.5; D3DXMatrixTranslation(&m_PositionMatrix, fOffX, fOffY, 1); D3DXMatrixScaling(&m_ScalingMatrix, fScaleX, fScaleY, 0); // scale the quad with same aspect ratio // rotation D3DXMatrixRotationYawPitchRoll(&m_RotateMatrix, m_fObjectRotationX, m_fObjectRotationY, m_fObjectRotationZ); m_WorldMatrix = m_ScalingMatrix * m_RotateMatrix * m_PositionMatrix; I hope someone knows why do I get shrinking when rotating. Thanks,

Advertisement
Your explanation of what your seeing is a little vague ('it kinda shrinks it's width"). [smile] Something a bit more technical might be helpful.