• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
xM1k3x

Top Down Shooters

This topic is 3697 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all are there any tutorials that you guys could direct me too that show how to accomplish some of the key things behind top down shooters 1.e scrolling background, how to place enemies on the map that the player does not see until they reach that area things like that. I am taking a 2d game engine class in college so I am not a complete beginner and I really just want to create a one level simple top down shooter with spaceships and stationary enemies( no AI). Its not going to be complex I know how to do everything else that is needed for the game so I just need help with the scrolling( should be continuously scrolling like a normal top down space shooter) and how to place enemies farther in the map. On the last one I had a theory that perhaps they dont place enemies on the map but that they randomly generate them: like as you proceed all of sudden an enemy is loaded in front of you however to the player it looks as if it had always been there. Ok thats all any insight and/or direction on this subject is greatly appreciated. Oh and I am programming in C++ and using DirectX 9 THanks!

Advertisement
I saw your post earlier today and while I can't think of any tutorials (most likely because I don't read them), I can cover all the necessary aspects. The problem that occurred to me was the breadth of topics that I would need to cover, which made me reluctant to get started. I considered adding a page to the wiki instead, but then I got distracted by the day's tasks.