DLL's, Binding, and the whole crazy thing

Started by
1 comment, last by MJP 15 years, 9 months ago
Hello. I am a mostly self-taught game programming hobbyist (for lack of a better term), and I am confused. I have fiddled around with C++, Lua, HTML (if it can be called a programming language), PHP, SQL, and several variants of BASIC (DarkBASIC, QBASIC, BlitzBASIC, etc.), not to mention some fiddling with game engine scripts (Source's language, Torque Script, GML, etc). But I'm still stumped. I want an explanation of Libraries and DLL's. I know that they can be compiled similarly to regular executable programs (whatever that entails, I don't really know much for sure except that hitting F5 in Dev-C++ makes either a program or a long list of errors). I have seen (and been baffled) by words like declspec(dllimport) and THREAD_ATTACH. What does it all mean? How is a library different from a program? What do I have to do differently to attach a DLL to a program and be able to use it's functionality? What benefits and downsides are there to using libraries or DLL's? What, if any, is the difference between Windows' '*.dll' files and Unix's '*.so' files? What is the difference between DLLs and LIBs? What is a '*.a' file? What exactly is the "dlfcn standard"? Are these files platform-specific? Tell me as much as you can about libraries, dynamic linking, and the whole API process. It's been baffling for much too long, and I just want to know what it is. Thank you. - Nick "ShotgunNinja" Iannone
Advertisement
Have you gone through Wikipedia's page on Library (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Library_(computing) )? (If you didn't understand it, that's OK, just let us know you read it). And I assume you googled for everything you asked about, and didn't understand the explanations?
I'm not very familiar with how things work outside of Windows and Visual C++, but I'll share what I know...