Feedback wanted + tips for a complete novice

Started by
3 comments, last by Harry Hunt 15 years, 9 months ago
Hi everybody! I'm a programmer at heart so I'm not exactly sure what I'm doing in here, but here goes ;-) So for as long as I can think, I've had these melodies in my head. But I could never do anything with them. I don't play an instrument, I don't know the last thing about music theory and did I mention that I don't play an instrument? So the day before yesterday I decided that I have to find a way of making music without actually learning how to play an instrument. So I downloaded a demo version of "FL Studio" and tried to write some music. For starters, I tried to get the beginning of the third movement of Brahm's third symphony into FL Studio and it worked reasonably well. I would hum or whistle the melody and then try to replay it in the piano roll. Having never used FL Studio before, I obviously couldn't get any kind of accentuation going, but I enjoyed the process so much, I went into the store the next day and not only bought the full version of FL Studio but also a MIDI keyboard (which of course I can't play). So I've been trying to record the melodies in my head since then and I've actually had some success. Of course it's a painstaking process, since I can't read or write music, don't play the piano and don't know anything about music theory. Long story short, here's the first song I wrote. It's called "After the war". So the reason I'm writing all of this is because a) I'm hoping to get some feedback (does it sound alright or is something completely off) and b) I'm wondering where I should go from here. I don't think I have the time for piano lessons, but I would still very much like to "optimize" the process. Should I look into music theory and if so, anything in particular? Thanks a lot in advance!
Advertisement
hi