Sign in to follow this  
n3Xus

3ds max simple mesh exporter for DirectX 10

hello, I'm making a simple mesh exporter using maxscript. I can export mesh vertices, indices and normals. Now the problem is with the texture vertices. I know how to export multiple texture vertices for every mesh vertex but I don't know how to use them in DX10 I have got already multiple TEXCOORDs for every vertex but how can i use them? so far i only know how to use one TEXCOORD (I'm new to DirectX 10, I've done some DX9 before but not much). this is how my vertex shader input struct looks like:
struct VS_INPUT
{
	float3 Pos : POSITION;
	float3 Norm: NORMAL;
	float2 Tex : TEXCOORD;
	float2 Tex1: TEXCOORD1;
};

pixel shader struct:
struct PS_INPUT
{
	float4 Pos : SV_POSITION0;
	float3 Norm: TEXCOORD0;
	float2 Tex : TEXCOORD1;
	float2 Tex1 : TEXCOORD2;
};

this is the vertex shader:
PS_INPUT VS( VS_INPUT input)
{
	PS_INPUT output=(PS_INPUT)0;

output.Pos=mul(float4(input.Pos,1),World);
	output.Pos=mul(output.Pos,View);
	output.Pos=mul(output.Pos,Projection);

output.Norm=mul(input.Norm,World);

output.Tex=input.Tex;
	output.Tex1=input.Tex1;

return output;
}

this is the pixel shader:
float4 PS( PS_INPUT input ) : SV_Target
{
        return txDiffuse.Sample(txsampler,output.Tex);	
}

I assume that if I want it to use multiple texture vertices i have to change something in here but I don't have the slightest idea even where to start so I hope if you can give me some tips or links to some tuts...

Quote:
multiple TEXCOORDs for every vertex.. but how can i use them?

The simple answer is: "Use them any way you want to." [smile]

How do you want to use them?

By the way, I think:
return txDiffuse.Sample(txsampler,output.Tex);

should be:
return txDiffuse.Sample(txsampler,input.Tex);

hm...I actually don't know how to ask it...