• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Another 'How can I....' thread... sorry!

This topic is 3481 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Okay, so I'm a fairly competant programmer, versed in C++, C#, Windows Forms development, and quite extensive use of Actionscript (and some application of this into making very basic games), and good knowledge of the VS2008 IDE. I've wanted to get into game-creation using C++ for a heck of a long time, and ultimately every attempt I make always ends up in failure due to one resounding factor: There doesn't seem to be any specific 'rule of thumb' as to what you should spend your time learning. Let me be more specific. There are many, many talented people out there who can create games using C++. I mean, ultimately, everyone wants to be able to program their own 3D extravaganze, but really everyone has to start somewhere. But where is this elusive starting point? I've got books at home on C++, books on game development, but there's no real cohesiveness to it all. People are very quick to use throwaway comments like, "Oh, learn 'x' and you'll be fine" - but cite no literature or resources from which to use as a launchpad. So, to my question. I want to get started writing games using C++ - I'll probably have to start with something like GDI+ or something, since DX is well out of my reach. However, I want to become extremely (and I mean extremely) proficient at the basics before I crack on with the more advanced side of it. If that means spending the next 3 months creating a myriad of hello world apps, then so be it. Let's say that my intended destination (in the future) is DirectX. I know that means windows API programming and the like (something I've not yet done). Can someone give me a decent list of technologies / specific areas of programming I should be concentrating on - from the ground up?